Iron Cupcake Bake Off for MS Society

It’s not often that I allow my work and blog life to combine. After all, one of the main reasons I started this blog was to distract me from my hectic work life and help to achieve that work/life balance that I’ve heard so much about! But on this occasion I have to make an exception.

As many will know, I am a fundraiser for the MS Society in Scotland and cover everything from Perth to the Borders. I’m the one you’ll see in your local paper in my orange t-shirt accepting comedy giant cheques from people who have jumped out of planes, walked across fire, ran marathons or even baked cakes. The latter is of course my favourite type of event!

I am also responsible for promoting the MS Society’s flagship event: Cake Break which takes place on Friday 4th May this year (or whenever suits you).  The idea is simple: bake (or buy) some cakes, put the kettle on, invite some friends round and ask them for a wee donation towards a few slices of delicious cake.

I couldn’t possibly promote a cake-themed event for work without getting involved personally. That just wouldn’t be right! So….. together with Katey and Victoria from the Edinburgh Cake Ladies we’re holding a Cupcake Bake Off on Sunday 22nd April in Sofi’s Bar, Leith.  Both bakers and tasters are welcome to attend for a donation and you can buy cupcakes after the judging, with all proceeds going to the MS Society. Bakers are asked to donate £2 and tasters are asked to donate £5. Please email edinburghbakeoff@gmail.com to let us know if you’ll be baking!

For more information and to let us know that you’ll be coming along, check out our Facebook event page.

In the meantime, if you fancy getting involved and holding a Cake Break of your own, pop over to the MS Society website where you can sign up for your free host pack. If you’re looking for inspiration or recipes check out MadeByFi; I’ve heard its pretty good!

About me, about the MS Society

I haven’t had my arm twisted into writing this post by my boss or anything like that. I’m just excited about lots of events that will allow me to eat even more cake!  As part of my job, they make me (haha!!!!) pop along to a few Cake Breaks on 4th May so if you see a woman in an orange t-shirt, buzzed on sugar and caffeine bouncing from one place to another on that day, come say hi! I’ll no doubt have cake somewhere on my person!

Scotland has one of the highest prevalences of MS in the world, with over 10,500 people in Scotland living with the condition.  The MS Society is the UK’s leading charity dedicated to enabling everyone affected by MS to live life to their full potential and secure the care and support they need, until we ultimately find a cure.  As a voluntary organisation we rely on the generosity and support of people like those attending the Cupcake Bake Off.

2 thoughts on “Iron Cupcake Bake Off for MS Society

Leave a Reply

