Rolo slice

I’ve kind of neglected my blog of late but those who have seen me will realise why: I’m sporting an increasingly large baby bump and priorities (as well as my ability to bake) have changed.

Unfortunately the only time I seem to manifest symptoms of the “baby brain” phenomenon is when I’m in the kitchen. This has lead to me to forget a multitude of ingredients! A while back I ended up baking a lemon tart with no sugar in the filling (I only realised when I was packing it up to take to a friend’s house for dinner!). I’ve also made a pear tart with savoury instead of sweet pastry and have I accidentally omitted ingredients in many dinner time recipes.

I promise it’s not on purpose but my other half has now banned me from most of the cooking for fear that I forget an essential ingredient!

20130326-080556.jpg

So when the opportunity to get involved in the newly renamed Edinburgh Bakers‘ Towers of Terrific Traybakes Take Two event came up, I jumped at the chance. It had been years since I’d made a traybake and how could it possibly go wrong? The answer is that it didn’t! Thank goodness.

I chose to recreate a recipe that one of my colleagues from the MS Society had introduced me to when I was working there: Rolo slice. It’s sweet, decadent and chocolatey, everything a traybake should be! Using a mere 9 packets of Rolos, the recipe is also (NOT) low calorie!! Nevertheless it got devoured!

20130326-080856.jpg

I didn’t take my camera with me to the event but for more pictures of all the fabulous tray bakes check out the Edinburgh Bakers‘ blog.

Update
I’ve been asked for the recipe for Rolo slice by a few people so here goes:

Ingredients
225g margarine
300g milk chocolate, plus 300g milk chocolate for the topping
6 tbsp Golden Syrup
450g Rolos (9-10 packets)
450g digestive biscuits, crushed

Method

  1. Melt the margarine, 300g of the milk chocolate and the syrup in a heavy pan over a medium heat.  Keep stirring to ensure that it doesn’t stick or burn.
  2. Add the biscuits and Rolos and stir through.
  3. Press into 3 greased 20cm (8 inch) cake tins and chill in the fridge.
  4. Meanwhile, melt the remaining 300g of milk chocolate and spread evenly over the top of the three traybakes.
  5. Chill and slice into 8 slices each. Stack on top of each other as if creating a tower of terrific traybakes to serve!
4 thoughts on “Rolo slice

Leave a Reply

