After Eight Tart

Continuing with the ridiculously easy but suitably decadent recipes, I recently opted to dig out a recipe that I got from an old fundraising cookbook that I think was sold to raise money for either my primary or secondary school. With only four ingredients, the After Eight Tart really can’t go wrong!

20130413-161756.jpg

As they say, the proof of the pudding is in the eating. If that’s the case, my most recent attempt at this recipe definitely got my seal of approval. After treating my other half to a slice and dishing it up for a friend who came round for dinner earlier in the week, there was still a full quarter of the tart left. Unfortunately my intention to share the remaining tart with my neighbours was soon forgotten as I ended up devouring the entire slab myself!

Ingredients
150g digestives
75g butter, melted
300g box After Eights, or alternative mint-filled chocolates
150ml double cream
Milk and white chocolate to decorate

Method
1. Crush the digestives in a food processor (or place them in a food bag and beat them with something heavy!) and mix with the melted butter in a large bowl. Press into an 8 inch greased flan tin and place in the fridge while you make the topping.
2. Melt the whole box of After Eights in a bowl over a pan of boiling water. Once melted, add the cream and stir until combined.
3. Pour over the biscuit base and leave to set in the fridge overnight.
4. Once set, grate equal amounts of milk and white chocolate over the top to decorate.

20130413-161809.jpg

2 thoughts on “After Eight Tart

Leave a Reply

