Potato, spinach and tuna bites

Oh how you get used to multitasking as a mum! I’m currently typing this with one hand on my phone as X is crashed out on me and won’t let me move!

Anyway, while she’s out cold I thought I’d share the recipe that she had for lunch. I was supposed to be making some more of the potato, apple and spinach bites this week but used up my apples making pork chops. Keen to give X some protein, I added some tuna instead.
image

Because I’d made them with coconut milk this time instead of formula, I was able to try them and I have to say they were pretty tasty. X devoured 3 for her lunch so she clearly approved too!

Potato, spinach and tuna bites

Ingredients
400g mashed potato
80g spinach, fresh or frozen
1/2 tin tuna, drained
3 tbsp milk (I used hypoallergenic formula but you could also use coconut milk if dairy is an issue)
2 tbsp oil
30g plain flour

Method
Preheat the oven to 200C. If using fresh spinach, fry it in a little oil until wilted. If using frozen spinach, put it in a bowl, cover it and microwave it for 2 or 3 minutes until soft. Once the spinach is cooked, squeeze out as much moisture as you can.

Place the spinach and all the other ingredients into a large bowl and combine. Spoon the mixture into a piping bag and using a fluted nozzle, pipe rounds onto a greased baking tray. Drizzle each bite with oil and bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until starting to brown on top.

20140307-201901.jpg

2 thoughts on “Potato, spinach and tuna bites

Leave a Reply

